First of two orientations is complete. My next orientation will be next month(as long as i can get off work). They did mention that If i was not able to go to the next meeting, if need be, they could go through all the info with me one-on-one, so that would be an option to. 

    The next orientation they will hit on a lot more of the specifics. One thing that they
did mention was for those who are starting out to try respite care first. Respite care is when you have the children in your home mostly for just 1 or 2 days, mostly weekends. This gives the other foster parents, or the real parents a break and a chance to recharge. Something i did not know was sometimes respite care is required. I don't know how often it is required but an example they gave was if the child has behavioral issues they will require the care givers to use respite care so many days each month. 

    I have a feeling i will learn a lot more during the 2nd orientation. Most the information they had gone over was information i had already read about when looking on my county's website. 

     So now that i have gone over the technical side of things... I will tell you that i am terrified! Before it seemed so far away now it feels so real. I have so many thought running through my head...
    What type of child will i have?
    Why will i have this child?
    How many children will there be?
    Will i have to communicate with the parents? Will the parents be cooperative?
    How long will they stay with us?
    Will they like us?
    Will we get attached to them?
    Can we handle them?
    Will we be a good foster family???
My mind continues to race with questions! I am not normally a worrier but when it comes to someone elses life and also my childs life i cant help but worry. I know everything happens for a reason, and i know i have started this process for a reason.... now i just have to wait for got to out the right person in the right place!



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a mother with a big heart who feels every child should be given a sucessful start to life.

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All

    Growing Local Learning